Norway ETIAS for citizens of Japan

Japan is the latest country to join Norway in the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS). ETIAS is a computer system that allows authorities to check the identity of anyone who wants to travel to or transit through Europe.

ETIAS will help ensure that nationals of Japan are not abusing visas by overstaying or travelling on fraudulent documents. It will also make it easier for authorities to identify foreign criminals who may be seeking to commit crimes in Europe.

As we know, Japan has strict travel advisories in place for several countries, so this new ETIAS system will only add to our safety concerns when travelling to Japan.

Applying For Norway ETIAS From Japan

If you are a citizen of Japan and you wish to apply for an ETA/ETIAS visa to travel to Norway, you will need the following:

  • Your passport with at least six months remaining before your intended travel date.
  • A completed ETIAS application form.
  • A valid passport-sized photo.
  • The amount of money you will be spending during your stay in Norway (or, if you have Norwegian currency already, the equivalent in Norwegian Kroner).
  • Your return air ticket.

Submit all of the above to the nearest Norwegian embassy/consulate in your home country. Note that some embassies may restrict visa applications from certain countries due to increased terrorism risks.

Reasons You Should Get An Norway ETIAS

Norway started issuing an ETIAS for citizens of Japan on January 1, 2020. If you are a Japanese citizen and you want to travel to Norway, you will need to apply for an ETIAS. The ETIAS is a visa that allows citizens of countries in the European Union, Andorra, Argentina, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Hong Kong SAR China, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, Macao SAR China, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Panama City Panama Republic*, Peru*, San Marino*, Singapore*, South Korea*, Switzerland*, Taiwan* and Uruguay to travel to Norway for tourism or business purposes without a visa for up to 180 days in a 6 month period.

If you are traveling to Norway as a tourist or business traveler and your stay is over 90 days in total within a 6-month period from the date of first entry into the country (i.e. from the date of your ETIAS approval document), you will need to obtain a visa. If you are travelling as part of an organized group (such as a tour), your group members will also need visas if their stay is longer than 90 days in total within a 6-month period from the date of first entry into the country.

Things To Consider Before Coming To Norway

There are a few things to consider before coming to Norway, especially as an ETIAS (Extended Transit and illegal immigration status) visa holder. First, make sure you have the correct documentation. Second, be aware of your rights and restrictions while in Norway. Finally, keep in mind that Norway is a very expensive country to live in.

Apply ETIAS before coming to Norway

  1. Go to the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration’s website and find the application form or go to their Facebook page. Note: If you are applying online, make sure you have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer.
  2. Complete the application form and attach required documents (passport, visa application fee, photograph). Make copies of these documents for your files.
  3. Package your application in an international envelope with the address of the Norwegian embassy or consular office where you will apply for your visa stamped on it. Make three photocopies of your application and send one to yourself, one to the embassy or consulate, and one to the person you will be visiting in Norway (if applicable). Make sure that you have Contact information for all parties listed on your application – this is especially important if you are traveling without a companion or family member.
  4. Once all required documentation is received, it will take up to 3 weeks for your application to be processed by the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration. Keep in mind that additional processing time may be necessary depending on your nationality and country of residence. In rare cases, applications may not be processed at all due to insufficient documentation or if inappropriate documentation is submitted. Thus,


Norway plans to have an electronic identity card (ETIAS) for its citizens by 2020. ETIAS will replace the current national ID cards, and it will be valid for both inside and outside of Norway.

ETIAS will be a secure digital ID card that will allow residents to travel, work, and study in Norway without having to carry multiple IDs. The card will also serve as a digital citizenship document, entitling holders to access government services online and participate in public life.

Norway is the first country in the world to launch an ETIAS pilot program, and the card is already available to Norwegian citizens who want to apply. The pilot program is open to people from countries that are part of the Schengen Area: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia Malta Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden.

Share the article

Return to the most interesting content

Related Articles